Need help? Call NOW 410-581-4900 Treatment works!

Resources

Maryland Laws

Maryland Drunk Driving Fines and Penalties

Penalty Distinction Between a DWI and DUI in Maryland

The State of Maryland distinguishes between Driving While Impaired (DWI) and Driving Under the Influence (DUI).

  • A driver with a .07 percent BAC will receive a DWI,
  • A driver with a .08 and above BAC will receive a DUI.

Regardless of the charge, the penalties can be severe.

First DUI Conviction

1st Drunk Driving Conviction

First DUI

  • Jail—Up to 1 Year
  • Jail—Up to 2 Years (If Transporting a Minor)
  • Possible License Suspension
  • Fine—Up to $1,000
  • Permanent Record
  • Up to 3 Years Supervised Probation

First DWI

  • Jail—Up to 1 Year
  • Jail—Up to 6 Months (If Transporting a Minor)
  • Possible License Suspension
  • Fine—Up to $500
  • Fine—Up to $1,000 (If Transporting a Minor)
  • Up to 3 Years Supervised Probation

Second DUI Conviction

2nd Drunk Driving Conviction

Second DUI

  • Jail—Up to 2 Years
  • Jail—Up to 3 Years (If Transporting a Minor)
  • Ignition Interlock Program Possible (After 45 Days of Suspension)
  • Fine—Up to $2,000
  • Fine—Up to $3,000 (If Transporting a Minor)

    Second DWI

    • Jail—Up to 1 Year
    • Possible License Suspension
    • Fine—Up to $500
    • Up to 3 Years Supervised Probation
    • Fine—Up to $2,000 (If Transporting a Minor)

      Third Maryland DUI

      3rd (and future) Drunk Driving Conviction

      Third DUI Conviction

      • Jail—Up to 5 Years (If Transporting a Minor)
      • Possible License Suspension
      • Fine—Up to $3,000 (If Transporting a Minor)

        To schedule an assessment/evaluation call our offices at 410-581-4900.